Local Government Elections

2021 Local Government Elections

Local Government elections are scheduled to take place Saturday, 4 December 2021.

Uralla Shire Council has engaged the NSW Electoral Commission to conduct the 2021 Local Government elections. For up-to-date information on the 2021 Local Government elections, please visit the NSW Electoral Commission's website

To check if you are registered to vote or to update your enrolment details, please visit the NSW Electoral Commission's page here. To find out in which Ward you reside, please visit the NSW Electoral Commission's page here.

Previous Elections

The last Local Government elections were held on Saturday, 10 September 2016.

2016 Local Government election results

2019 By-election results

A by-election was held in February 2019 for Ward A. 

The electoral process

Local Government elections and by-elections are conducted in a legal environment in accordance with the provisions of the NSW Local Government 1993 and the Local Government (General) Regulation 2005.

The NSW Electoral Commission (NSWEC) is responsible for the conduct of all Local Government elections to ensure that the elections are conducted independently and impartially. 

An independent Returning Officer is appointed by the NSWEC to each council area to conduct the election on behalf of and under the direction of the Electoral Commissioner.

The Electoral Commissioner appoints the polling places for council elections and the Returning Officer appoints the election officials.

Each council is required by law to meet the costs of the conduct of its election. The NSWEC works with each council to establish agreed service levels.

State and Federal Elections